Bookshelves Post – Luna

“A bookshelf is as particular to its owner as are his or her clothes; a personality is stamped on a library just as a shoe is shaped by the foot.”

― Alan Bennett
Basically, you can tell a lot about a girl by her shelves.

So this is what’s being used as my bookshelves at the moment. Due to lack of space, I have an IKEA display shelf. It’s great and takes a lot of books but what I want eventually is wall to wall shelving so everything can be displayed. Right now these shelves are stacked three deep so it can be hard to find things.

Manga takes up the top four shelves (guarded by Stitch.) I’m into less manga series now so I doubt these shelves will expand much more. I’m waiting on the next volume of Idol Dreams by Arina Tanemura and Frankie has the first book in the Rose Princess series but other than that, I don’t see anything else being added anytime soon.

Harry Potter series with the Cursed Child displayed at the front! (Also in the shot is a miniature Grandfather clock. The tick is hella annoying so I removed the pendulum.)

Here are some of my favourite books! The Lunar Chronicles, Snow like Ashes, Fangirl, the Tearling series and the Red Queen series. TBH I’d like more of the gorgeous pastel covers Fangirl has. It’s rare that I have more than one copy of a book but they’re just stunning and would look wonderful together on a shelf.

More books further down and a Fluttershy. We’ve got the Vampire Academy series, some Ally Carter, Antigoddess and a few books I need to read, including the ‘Dorothy must die’ series. Also featured is ‘Only Ever Yours’ by Louise O’Neill, one of my all time faves, and Book of Lies which Andy got signed for me when the author came to Waterstones.

Some more series I love minus the Jewel and the Pledge, also stolen by Frankie. Below that are my Terry Pratchetts and some crime books. You can see ‘Carry On’ by Rainbow Rowell behind Fluttershy. I rarely get hardbacks but I was so desperate for that book I couldn’t wait for the paperback (Since writing this post, I also now have the PB of Carry On. What do you do to me, Rainbow Rowell?)

 

Some guilty pleasures in the form of the Ever After High series (I wasn’t kidding when I said I love anything fairy tale.) They’re aimed at a slightly younger audience than me but I love them because they’re genuinely good books and they add an extra element to the characters I see in the webisodes. Shannon Hale and Suzanne Selfors do a fantastic job. It’s not easy writing books to go with a well established TV series/toy line but they pull it off fabulously.

Next to it is the Gallagher girls series, also a bit young for me but who doesn’t love a school for training teenager girl spies? (I still secretly want to be a Gallagher girl tbh.)

Below that is a mix of things. The ‘Lovely Bones’ and the ‘Hungry Ghosts’ are some of my favourites, falling into that ‘super depressing’ category that I love. There’s also ‘Lolita’ and ‘Reconstructing Amelia’ which I’d love to do a review about sometime.

Behind the books on this shelf, sit all my Jodi Picoult novels. This shelf is pretty good for when you want to feel like you’ve been kicked in the gut by a book.

And finally here’s a better look at some more of my faves. ‘The School for Good and Evil’ trilogy (soon to be four books next year!) and the handbook, Kendare Blake’s Anna series, ‘The Lie Tree’ and hidden behind the others is Julie Kagawa’s ‘Talon Series.’ Also featured is Ariel, best princess ever.

My bookshelves rarely stay the same for more than a month. Right now it’ll stay as is for a bit because they have a lot of space available. I usually keep series together but not authors. The system this month goes ‘so-so’ books at the back, ‘to-read’ the next along and my favourite books are all displayed at the front. Last month, I did them by genre.

And finally, a few other things on my shelves.

My Monster High ‘Scary Tales’ dolls guard my spell books, pony collector guides and my Mad Max movie tie in. I usually keep these girls near my fairy tale books though.

 

On top it’s ponies galore! The long flat surface is great for putting boxes and showing off my G3s. These shelves will be pony shelves when I move and I can get the book shelves that I want.

That’s it for now. Expect another bookshelves post soon as both mine and Andy’s shelves are due to change in the next year – her’s when she goes back to uni and mine when I move out next year.

Photos and tips about shelves are always appreciated! Andy and I have to make do with what space we’ve got so either empathise with our plight or make us jelly by showing off your fantastic spaces dedicated to books.

Leave a Reply

