TBR August Post – Luna

Welcome to Luna’s top ten tbr

1. Ice Like Fire by Sara Raasch

Ice like Fire is the sequel to Snow like Ashes by Sara Raasch. Meira is a teenager, who is one of the few survivors after their kingdom of Winter was destroyed, leaving them without magic or a monarch. 

I loved Snow likes Ashes and the incredible world building so I’m thrilled to finally be able to sit down and read the sequel.


2. The Wicked Will Rise by Danielle Paige


The Wicked will Rise is the sequel to ‘Dorothy must die.’ An ordinary Kansas girl arrives in oz to find that Dorothy isn’t the hero she was once and now terrorises the land.

I love twists on fairy tales so ‘Dorothy must die’ was a must read for me. This month I’d like to move onto the second. I’m hoping to have read everything by the time ‘End of Oz’ is released.

3. Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling

 

Obvy, bitches.

4. The Siren by Kiera Cass

The Siren is Kiera Cass’ unique twist on the original fairy tale, where women are rescued from drowning to become sirens and lure men to their deaths. This debt only lasts for a hundred years, after which they can return to their normal lives. But one Siren falls in love with a human and if she talks to him, her voice could kill him. 
Kiera Cass has long been a favourite of mine and I’m thrilled she released a standalone book. Plus mermaids. Win.
5. Queen of Hearts by Colleen Oakes
 
‘Evil is brewing in Wonderland, and maybe, most frighteningly, in Dinah herself.’
This imaginative take follows Dinah on her journey to be Queen of Hearts. However it doesn’t look as if it will end happily ever after. 

This is the third book on the list inspired by or a take on fairy tales. #Sorrynotsorry. I read the first few chapters of this on Epicreads and I had to have it. It’s fantastic to have a book follow a villain instead of a hero and how she gets to be that way.

6. Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake 

‘The last queen standing gets the crown.’I shouldn’t have this. I did not get a friend to sneakily lend me the proof. #cahoots. I’m probably going to read a lot more than these six this month but these are priorities. The others will be random library books, unread crime novels from my shelf and books I’ve nabbed off my friends.

Leave a Reply

