Andy’s Bookshelf

Greetings!
 
Since this blog is still in this infancy, I thought I’d try and start with something simple and non-scary. Thus, I present to you my bookshelves!

Ta da!

Ta da!

 

These are in my room at home – nice multi-purpose storage shelves from Ikea that I inherited from my brother (the room’s original occupant).  
Behold the mighty book case

Behold the mighty book case

My room is tiny. There is hardly any room for these shelves against one wall, a wardrobe at the bottom of the room, and a single bed. That’s it. So my book shelving system is based on maximising the little space that I do have on each shelf. 
Garrus takes great pride in guarding my books #SpaceBoyfriend

Garrus takes great pride in guarding my books #SpaceBoyfriend

 This is the second shelf from the top. It’s the shelf that is dominated by Terry Pratchett, because the editions that I have are the old editions – tiny, tiny paperbacks! So by keeping them all together and stacked up makes good use of space, and I can tuck them sideways on top of other books to stop up the gaps. It’s also clear that I don’t believe in shelving by alphabet.
Fantasy shelf with squabbling dragons

Fantasy shelf with squabbling dragons

Next up is my mongrel shelf – mostly fantasy, some sci-fi, the odd bit of crime/horror and some steampunk. Many of my favourites are on this shelf – every single Gail Carriger book, for example, which look gorgeous stacked together – as well as The Girl With All The Gifts.

There’s also a whole pile of newish books that I need to get on and read stacked right at the front. Either it’s really new and I haven’t gotten round to starting it, or I’m just not finished reading it yet. It’s usually a good indicator of what I’m currently reading.

Obligatory teapot

Obligatory teapot

This right here is my ‘smart things’ shelf (it’s mostly there in case of visitors – “Look, I don’t just read about dragons, look at all the smart stuff I read. I’m smart I swear!”)
There’s a lot of feminist writing on this shelf, primarily non-fiction, though I also keep my Angela Carter selection on here and my collection of Carol Ann Duffy poetry, because they are both ‘the bomb’.
All the memoirs/biographies I read get shelved here, and there is no overarching order other than which books are of a similar size so as to maximise space.
Next up is probably my current favourite shelf – Graphic Novel Shelf.
Look at all the pretties

Look at all the pretties


It’s also the shelf where I store oversized books, like the Steampunk Bible and my maps of middle Earth. all the graphic novels are arranged A-Z by title, which I’m very proud of. Until very recently I had a whole bumch of single issue comics and it was Hel – they don’t look attractive and they take up so. Much. Space. So I’m on a mission to replace all the single issues with their trade equivalents, saving space and making everything look so much better.
All I need to do now is work on walking past the comic shop, not into it. Past, not in. Past, not in. Okay, Maybe only go in once in a while…maybe once a week to see if there’s anything new and exciting.
An Egyptian, a Welshman, and a Greek walk into a bar

An Egyptian, a Welshman, and a Greek walk into a bar

 

Tucked onto the end of that shelf is my collection of myths and legends a) because I like to keep them altogether and b) they very handily keep the graphic novels upright so they don’t fall over under their own weight. Bonus!

And finally
Hardbacks live up top

Hardbacks live up top

 Because that shit won’t fit anywhere else. The World of Ice and Fire is a very recent addition and I had a devil of a time finding a place for it – I redid the entire top shelf to fit that sucker in.
 This is by no way all my books. This is just what my solitary bookcase looks like. The rest are stashed all over the place; in the loft, in suitcases, on top of the wardrobe, under the wardrobe, in drawers…you get the idea.
I hope you enjoyed this little glimpse into my (teeny tiny) library. See you all again soon!
Leave a Reply

