Luna’s Most Anticipated Autumn 2016

We’ve had some really great books released this year but tbh all the ones I’m craving for, the ones that I need like air are all released October onward.

This is a list of the eight books I’m literally counting down the days for.

Fate of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

fateofthetearlingcover

1st December 2016

To be honest, who didn’t fall in love with Queen of the Tearling? It seems that the final book is here all too soon. Seriously, I’m going to read it and then it will be over. The struggle of all book lovers, I guess. You want to read it but when you do, it’s all over forever, leaving a permanent whole in your heart. My heart is just a little scrappy piece now.

I love the covers for these books. This series seems to have quite a few different covers but these are by far my favourite. They’re elegant and simple and perfectly capture the feel of the books.

Anything I say might be spoilers so I’ll just say this: read this series. Just. Go. Do. It. It is just a mind-blowing fantasy series and I cannot stress how awesome it is. Just go read it. Thank me later.

The Boy is Back by Meg Cabot

boyisbackcover

17th November 2016

Meg Cabot has done a lot involving her old series lately. Not that I’m complaining – we got a new book for the Princess Diaries, an adult instalment for the Mediator series and now this. I’m not 100% sure but I think this is another in her ‘Boy’ series. If so, I’m psyched. Even if not, new Meg Cabot book, whoot whoot.

The cover is ok but nothing particularly special. I’m not often fond of yellow covers. Even the ones I like are never my favourites.

The blurb again is nothing especially interesting. It sounds like a regular chick lit novel. I’m placing bets on Meg’s funny and quirky style to make it something. Her adult books never look like much but then they turn out to be hilarious and awkward love stories with Great Danes and emails from HR.

Frost like Night by Sara Raasch

frostlikenightcover

1st October 2016

Look at that cover. Look at it. It’s a thing of beauty. I’ve liked the covers for ‘Snow’ and ‘Ice’ but I think the blue on this one just makes it.

This is the final book in the series and I’m not going to say too much to avoid spoilers. I read the first book in a day. The world, magic and characters are all fantastic and I am so, so excited for this. I think this book actually comes out before the PB release of ‘Ice like Fire.’ Seriously, guys, get it together.

Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake

df956-three2bdark2bcrowns

22nd September 2016

To be honest, this is not my favourite of the covers. It’s great and I love the crowns but I’ve seen other covers with three different styles for the three different queens. Luckily, it looks like Waterstones etc will have all three in stock. I can buy one for each Queen and have them all on my shelf. They are just the most ridiculously perfect thing.

I am more excited for this book than anything else Kendare Blake has done. I’ve loved everything else but something about this grips me. I read the first three chapters on Epicreads and that cemented that this book will probably make it onto my ‘Best of 2016’ list. Even better this looks to be a trilogy so I have lots more to look forward to, which is great as so many series are ending this year.

Murder and Mistletoe by Robin Stevens

mistletoeandmurdercover

20th October 2016

The covers for the ‘Murder Most Unladylike’ series are hella cute. Thy’re a bit brighter than I normally like but I think that works. Crime and murder-y novels are always grim and dark. It’s a bit cliche. These are colourful but simple and attractive.

I know I’ve only read one in the ‘Murder most Unladylike’ series but I already binge-bought the rest and am looking forward to this one. Yes, I know I have no impulse control. It sounds just as fun as the others, with Daisy and Hazel fighting to solve a murder before a rival detective society.

Goldenhand by Garth Nix

Goldenhandcover

4th October 2016

The covers for the Old Kingdom series are always stunning. And I love that they’re  the same all the way through. Normally they’d have released the fourth and fifth in a series with new updated covers and then they’d look odd on my shelves. It’s the bane of every booker’s life, I tell you. But this is going to be perfect and matching and wonderful.

I love the Old Kingdom series. I was so happy to hear about ‘Clariel’ but that was probably eclipsed by the joy I felt at hearing the announcement of this one. Lirael was always my favourite book and my favourite character. She’s a badass librarian, who wouldn’t love her?

The Black Key by Amy Ewing

theblackkeycover

6th October 2016

This cover is pretty stunning. I’m not sure about the angle of the model but the white dress amongst the dark shattering of glass is brilliant. It really fits the series and shows Violet breaking out of the mould society has set for her. There is another cover but I prefer this one.

I loved ‘The Jewel’ but I only gave it four stars. The romance was stiff and unbelievable and quite frankly, annoying. I wanted to smother Ash in his sleep and then Violet too for going all pathetic damsel in his presence. But ‘The White Rose’ got rid of all that. Ash got some much needed characterisation, Violet got a backbone and the whole relationship actually seemed bearable.

Because of that ‘The White Rose’ was five stars. It was all perfect, the characters, the rebellion, the twists. I am seriously hoping ‘The Black Key’ can top even that.

Heartless by Marissa Meyer

heartlesscover

17th November 2016

This cover is probably not my favourite? I feel such a traitor saying that! But I love the covers of the Lunar Chronicles, each one more magical and gorgeous than the last. It really was going to be hard to live up to that.

However the story sounds interesting. I’ve loved Wonderland retellings ever since I read ‘The Looking Glass Wars’ and I think there could be so much more done with it. But with this and ‘Queen of Hearts’ out I can properly submerge myself in madness, hearts and hats. In this version Katharine is just a normal girl, who wants to bake and open her own shop. Her mother disagrees as Katharine is a favourite of the unmarried King of Hearts and could one day be queen. I’m looking forward to this as it’s very unlikely to be a happy ending.


So that’s it…sort of. There are others, like the third volume of the ‘Jem and the Holograms’ comics or the new Jodi Picoult but these are the ones I can’t wait to get my hands on. At the end of the year I’ll do a 2017 list because the books coming out next year are just ridiculous. I will have no money next year because it’ll all be spent on books. But who says you can’t buy happiness?

One thought on “Luna’s Most Anticipated Autumn 2016

Leave a Reply

