August Book Haul – Luna

So I got a lot of books this month because I’m trash and I’m abusing my bff’s discount.

Funnily enough, I don’t feel particularly bad about this. #sorrynotsorry. Also, have I mentioned lately that Andy is the best?

So the first book is one that’s going to be made into a film. I actually specifically requested not a movie cover because I never like them as much as the proper covers.

The Girl with all the Gifts by M.R. Carey
This was actually recced to me by Andy and damn her, because I had to have it once I heard what it was about. It’ll probably be on September’s TBR.

Murder Most Unladylike and Arsenic for Tea by Robin Stevens.

I actually remember seeing these when I worked in Waterstones a few years back, I think, and thought they looked interesting them. I read Jolly Foul Play recently and that was it, I needed the rest.

Remembrance by Meg Cabot. This is a new instalment in her mediator series and I think it’s meant to be more of an adult novel. It would make sense because all the girls who were like me and read the series as a teenager would be adults by now (and I mean adults loosely.)

I’m really excited to read this, because I loved the series and Suze was always my favourite Meg Cabot heroine. At least until I started reading the Heather Wells series but even so, it’s still close.

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling

1ca62-cursed2bchild

I picked this up like a week after everybody else, I think because every time I went to town I forgot my stupid pre-order receipt. I finally remembered it but it was like the Friday after. Still, I have it now, it’s all shiny and displayed on my bookshelf and I just have to sit down and read it.

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

Carry-On-Cover

Yes, I already have this in hardback. No, I don’t care. Yes, I do need it twice, actually. Next!

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

sixofcrowscover

I keep seeing this one on Booktube and people seem really into it so when I saw a copy in  a local charity shop, I grabbed it.

The School for Good and Evil Handbook by Soman Chainani

handbookcover

I love this series and I’m super psyched for the fourth one, which will hopefully be released next year. I don’t think it will follow Agatha and Sophie but the world is fantastic and I will get it, whatever it is. The handbook is fantastic and gives us a bit of an insight into Agatha and Sophie’s lives after the end of the third book.

This Savage Song by V.E. Schwab

ThisSavageSongcover

Another booktube rec and my second charity shop find. I’m gonna confess I don’t know much about this one so I’m kind of going into it blind.

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

the-raven-boys-maggie-stiefvater

I read this one already and I love it. I expect my September Haul will involve the rest. Also, those covers are so beautiful!

Generation Dead by Dan Waters

generationdeadcover

Zombies! After Warm Bodies I’m really into more zombies in fiction. I’m going to read Pride, Prejudice and Zombies at some point. Might see the film. Probably not gonna bother. But this book got my attention in a charity shop and I had to have it.

The Hawkweed Prophecy by Irena Brignill

hawkweedprophecycover2

Another charity shop find. I’m expecting a lot from this one. I love stories about witches and there’s not always that many around. And by that, I mean good ones. Yeah, maybe that’s brutal but much like YA about angels and werewolves I rarely find any worth my time.

Jem and the Holograms vol. 1 and 2

Jem01cover

I love these comics. They’re still so 80s and cute and it’s good to know that all of the revived Jem and the Holograms stuff isn’t awful and a blight on the franchise (I’m looking at you, Jem movie.) They are beautiful and quirky and full of diverse characters so you should go read them. Don’t watch the movie. If you want an updated Jem experience this is it. Showtime, Synergy!

For reals though, I have no words to express my love for these comics. Jem is one of those things I’ve loved so long, it’s seeped into my blood.

The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee

163547

This is the book I am probably most excited for from this list. I love mean girls. I love them. I love girls you love to hate and girls who you kind of love, no matter how awful they are. And this book is full of glamorous, self-indulgent, self-destructive girls striving to get on top.

Tiny, Pretty things by Sona Charaipotra & Dhionielle Clayton

tinyprettythingscover

I only heard about this this year but I had to have it. Cutthroat ballet dancers? Yes, please. I’m hopeful about this one and definitely excited to read it.


To be honest, I got another 6 books off Amazon but I’ve put those on next month’s book haul post. This got long and I don’t want to be reminded how little control I’ve had. I can take comfort in that most of these were heavily discounted. And one of them was free.

I won’t have as many books next month because I will be in Holland! (And my main supplier/partner in crime will have moved to Norwich.)

Leave a Reply

