Unpopular Opinions Book Tag – Luna

I am so behind on blog posts this week but I’m to be excused as I had interviews and the BFF/partner in crime was leaving for Norwich. Real life does take precedence! (Sadly.)

I got my lovely boyfriend to pick a tag for me to do and he went with ‘The Unpopular Opinions’ book tag. This should be interesting. Hold onto your underwear, folks, I get the feeling this might be very unpopular…

These opinions are totally my own. If you get butthurt about someone on the internet not liking a book you love, you really need some help.

Onto the questions!

A POPULAR BOOK OR SERIES YOU DIDN’T LIKE

This one’s tricky as I usually only pick up stuff that I’m about 95% certain I’ll like. I have a whole list of series I will never read though.
I didn’t like ‘Shopaholic to the stars.’ I’ve always loved Sophie Kinsella, especially the ‘Shopaholic’ series but that one was just awful. Luckily, the latest appears to be return to form.

A POPULAR BOOK OR SERIES THAT EVERY ONE ELSE SEEMS TO HATE BUT YOU LOVE

Red Queen. Not that people hate it but I’ve heard some reviews of it where people aren’t too keen. I love, love, love this series. I am more than happy to read Red Queen again and again and I am in desperate need of King’s Cage when it comes out next year. And there’s going to be FOUR books. FOUR! That’s extra book joy!

Ahem. So, yes. That was my answer. ~sheepish face~

A LOVE TRIANGLE WHERE THE MAIN CHARACTER ENDED UP WITH THE PERSON YOU DID NOT WANT THEM TO END UP WITH OR AN OTP THAT YOU DON’T LIKE

This one is pretty tough, actually. I usually don’t mind the canon couples in books, even if I don’t necessarily ship them. I guess I’m going to have to go with the Gallagher Girls series where Cammie ends up with spy boy, Zach. However, I always shipped Cammie with her normal, not-spy boyfriend, Josh from the first book. They were adorable and TBH I find Zach a bit insufferable.

A POPULAR BOOK GENRE THAT YOU HARDLY REACH FOR

Contemporary. I’ve read some really good ones but I just don’t pick them up. There are genres I’d much rather read. It takes quite an extraordinary novel for me to take the time to read it (case in point, Thirteen Reasons Why and Fangirl are two such books that are contemporary and I adore.) It’s an excellent genre, just not really for me.

A POPULAR OR BELOVED CHARACTER THAT YOU DO NOT LIKE

Everyone seems really big on Tris from Divergent but I never really liked her (I’m also not a big fan of the series as a whole so maybe this is a cheat answer.)

A POPULAR AUTHOR THAT YOU CAN’T SEEM TO GET INTO

I am very sorry, John Green fans, but I have tried on two separate occasions to read one of his books and both times I have failed. It might be the writing style, it might be the genre but it just doesn’t work for me. I picked up ‘The Fault in Our Stars’ and after a page wished I was reading something else. I don’t think it’s ever gonna happen for me.

A POPULAR BOOK TROPE THAT YOU’RE TIRED OF SEEING. (EXAMPLES “LOST PRINCESS”, CORRUPT RULER, LOVE TRIANGLES, ETC.)

LOVE TRIANGLES. I hate it. It’s so done and overplayed and quite frankly, predictable. One of my favourite things about ‘The Lunar Chronicles’ is that there were no love triangles.

I actually secretly like the lost princess trope. That’s terrible, isn’t it? XD

A POPULAR SERIES THAT YOU HAVE NO INTEREST IN READING

Anything and everything by Cassandra Clare? I’m not gonna try and justify this really, it’s just like other YA series with the serial numbers filed off.

THE SAYING GOES “THE BOOK IS ALWAYS BETTER THAN THE MOVIE”, BUT WHAT MOVIE OR T.V. SHOW ADAPTATION DO YOU PREFER MORE THAN THE BOOK?

Dexter. I have tried with the books but it’s not quite the same. That said I also love Legally Blonde and found the book lacking. Usually I prefer books. I have yet to find a YA-based movie that even comes close to the book, never mind passes it.


So, that’s my list. Let me know if you agree, or even massively disagree. This was interesting for a first tag, I think. Thursday’s post will be the books I plan to read on holiday! It may involve me weeping at the books I have to leave behind. I know we’re taking the car but I don’t think the BF will approve me filling it with books…

 

Leave a Reply

