Quick Reviews – Luna’s August wrap up

So I actually read a reasonable amount in August so I thought I’d give you a quick run down of everything. Just books that I have some thoughts on but do not want to do full reviews on, for varying reasons.

One by One – Christ Carter

This is the first I’ve read of Chris carter’s novels and I really liked it. The pacing was good, the writing was good and while it was a touch gory, I didn’t mind it so much. It wasn’t too frequent so if it got a bit much for me, I could easily pass it by. I had a PB copy of this and while I liked the book, I decided not to keep it. Unlike Karen Rose’s novels, it’s not one I’m likely to read again.

3.5/5

Underworld – Cathy Macphail

This is an ex-library book I grabbed years ago and finally got around to reading. Again, not a book I will keep but I really enjoyed it, actually staying up late to read it. It’s not even 300 pages but it crams a lot into that amount. The characters were mostly assholes but that worked. Any character development they went through felt hard won and realistic.

The best part of this book was, without a doubt, the claustrophobia that it inspires. I read this late at night and you ABSOLUTELY SHOULD NOT DO THAT. It messes with your head. You’re not entirely sure what was in the darkness at the end and that makes it worse. The creepiness was very well done and something that a lot of thriller books don’t get right.

3.5/5

Don’t look now – Richard Montanari

Not a keeper for me. I’ve read some of Richard Montanari’s books before and liked them. Not my favourite crime novels but a good read. This one however was definitely a miss. I much prefer the Byrne and Balzano series that he writes. The characters are better and the plot lines are generally a lot more coherent. This was one of the first he wrote, I think, so another author that has improved with time. This one is going straight in the charity pile.

1/5

Twenties Girl by Sophie Kinsella

This one I have read before and I love it. Kindle had it for cheap so I pounced on it. It’s a great read, really fun and easy, while tugging on your heartstrings. It’s the best kind of chick-lit with plot and lovable characters and just a hint of romance. The best thing about Sophie’s heroines is that they’re your average twenty-something, frequently adorkable and with no clue what they’re doing in life. They’re very relatable and you will cringe from secondhand embarrassment more often than not.

4.5/5

The Crucifix Killer by Chris Carter

This is the first in Christ Carter’s series and I was not so impressed with this one. The series seems to have improved with time and the 6th instalment was much better written. This felt a bit messy and random. The premise was interesting but in the end the killer just didn’t really make sense to me. I will read the rest of the series however and hope that they are more like One by One’

2.5/5

Happily Ever after

If you’re unaware of this, this is a companion book to the ‘Selection series.’ I was glad I could finally read this as I adore the series as a whole. I’ve read some of the short novellas before and it was great to read them again. My favourites had to be Queen Amberly’s and Marlee’s. Marlee was definitely a favourite and Amberly’s was a wonderful insight into the mind of a queen and how she won her selection. There was also a few pieces from Celeste, the resident mean girl (and you know how I love mean girls.) I thoroughly recommend it for fans of the series.

4.5/5

Rebel of the sands by Alwyn Hamilton

This is something new I decided to try. It’s not my favourite thing but it is worth a read. The world is interesting enough, the romance isn’t in your face and I really like the man character. I’ll be buying the PB when I can and reading the next in the series when it comes out next year.

4/5

I re-read the first four ‘Artemis Fowl’ books, the ‘Girls’ series by Jacqueline Wilson and ‘The Supernaturalist’ also by Eoin Colfer. I’m not going to do summaries for any of these as they were only easy reads from when I was younger and easily available from my library.

Books I read that I will review in full

  • The Art of being normal – Lisa Williamson
  • Raven boys – Maggie Stiefvater
  • Jolly Foul Play – Robin Stevens

That is my August wrap up! I also have a post of books I bought last month (which is hideously long) and Andy has a book haul post too (again…long.)

Leave a Reply

