Luna’s October TBR

This month I’m focusing on sequels! I read/reread books on holiday so I think I’m going to read the next book while it’s fresh in my mind. You know how it is – you read a great book and by the time the sequel has rolled around a year later, the plot points and characters are  a bit hazy.

So here we go!

arseniccover

Arsenic for Tea – Robin Stevens

Having read the first in the series, I’m keen to start the second. I’ll have to get ‘First Class Murder’ before I finish it though, as it’s the only MMU book I don’t have.

Hazel is staying at Daisy’s grand house for the holidays. At a tea party for Daisy’s birthday, someone falls ill and all the signs point to poison. Trapped inside due to a ferocious storm, the Detective Agency must find out who did it, before it happens again.

saltandstone

Salt and Stone – Victora Scott

I reread Fire and Flood on holiday and loved it even more than the first time I read it.

I am working on a review in full for this book so watch out for that. But in the mean time, I am going to read the sequel of Tella’s quest to win the Brimstone Bleed.

 

glass-sword

Glass Sword – Victoria Aveyard

I love Red Queen and for some reason it’s taken me a long time to pick up the sequel. However, I recently read Red Queen again and now I’m itching to read Glass Sword. After the twist in the last book I need to see what happens next.

serafinaandthetwistedstaff

Serafina and the Twisted Staff – Robert Beatty

I talked about Serafina and the Black Cloak in my monthly wrap up so I won’t do that here. But it definitely made me want to see more of Serafina and the extravagant estate that she lives on. In this one there’s yet more evil threatening the Biltmore Estate and it’s up to Serafina to stop it.

And the cover is swoon-worthy gorgeous!

Undead and Un-employed – MaryJanice Davidson

I talked about this series in my wrap up as well so if you’ve read that you’ll know that I’ve challenged myself to read all 13 books in the series. It could be interesting as I have a love/hate relationship with them.

In the second book Betsy searches for a job (and finds one, selling shoes. Problem is, she spends her paycheck before she gets it.) and there’s a mysterious group hunting down vampires. As a (reluctant) vampire queen, Betsy has to do something – unfortunately it means the help of her totally annoying consort, Sinclair.

I started this one already and so far, I’m liking it better than the first. Betsy and her love of shoes is always amusing and I like the awesome if somewhat random group of vampire hunters. Sinclair is still a pain in the ass but hey, he’s dead, there’s a limit to how much fun he can be.

August Book Haul - Luna

Remembrance – Meg Cabot

I loved the Mediator series when I was a teenager (Suze was always my favourite Meg heroine, until Heather turned up and tied for top spot.) I love that she’s written another instalment for adults – prefect for all the girls, like me, who read them when they were young. I want to see more of Suze and hot ex-ghost BF, Jesse. There’s also a bad guy from Suze’s past turning up, who I suspect is Paul? Anyways, I don’t know much about the plot but I’m psyched to read it anyway.


 

So that’s it, that’s my list for October. I start a new job this month so I might be a bit ambitious? I may be too tired to read many of them! Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

