Book Tag – Goodreads

It’s a tag! (No, she’s not too busy watching Bob’s Burgers to do an actual review, what lies…)

Goodreads Tag

I figured this is a good one as I spend half my life on Goodreads. It’s an excellent way to keep track of books you’ve read, want to read, the progress you’ve made with a novel. And looking up new releases, which is mostly what I use it for.

Last book marked as read

Baby Doll by Hollie Overton! This is my first book of 2017. I enjoyed it… but not enough to do a proper review on it. I get myself hyped up for these ‘final girl’ books and then my expectations are too high.

giphy

Seriously though, you should read it. I have a few issues with some plot lines and the ending wasn’t my favourite but nevertheless I enjoyed it.

If you’re interested the book follows Lily and her daughter Skye. Lily was kidnapped as a teen and held hostage for eight years, eventually giving birth in captivity. One day her abuser forgets to lock the door and Lily and Skye make a break for it. The book follows Lily, her mother, her twin sister and her captor in the aftermath.

Book currently reading

The Glittering Court by Richelle Mead!

27272506

With the second one coming out this year, I thought I should start it. I’ve heard a few bad reviews about it but I’m enjoying it so far.

This book tells the story of Adelaide, a destitute but renowned countess, who escapes a loveless marriage by posing as her servant to enter the Glittering Court. The Court is for training impoverished girls to become wives for wealthy and powerful gentlemen.

So far I’m curious about where this will go. The world needs to be explained a bit more and while I don’t hate any of the characters, I’m not in deep enough yet to grow attached to any of them either. I can’t say yet whether this will be as good as her previous two series but high hopes!

Book last marked as to read

The Hawkweed Legacy by Irene Bignall

I adored the first book in the series and I’m thrilled that there’s a second one, released some time this year. I actually have a review of the first one here.

Book you plan to read next

I….have no clue. I should be finishing Undead and Unwary (but I don’t want to, it’s hard you guys) so I imagine Invasion of the Tearling is next on my list.

Yes, I am catching up on 2016 books I should have read in 2016. Do you want to make me cry?

Have you done any reading challenges

Uh…I started a 2017 reading challenge? That’s it, that’s all I’ve got. I don’t usually do reading challenges. I don’t usually need any encouragement to spend all my time with my head in a book. For reasons why I did so this year, please see this post.


Right, I’m taking myself off to bed with a hot water bottle and The Glittering Court. If it’s really good, I’ll still be there at 2am when the water is cold and my eyes are stuck open…

Leave a Reply

