The Secret Life of a Blogger

It’s our birthday! Whooooo!

tenor

So it’s offically been a year of Novel Darlings. It hasn’t been smooth and there’s things we need to work on. We vanished for a good two months earlier this year and we still have so much we want to do to get the blog to where we want it…but it’s been a great year nonetheless.

This post was picked for our birthdate as it gives a bit of insight into our blogging. Well, mine. Andy is probably in the sunshine, sipping a cocktail right about now. She feels bad about missing our birthday though so she will no doubt contribute her own post when she gets back!

How long have you been a blogger?

Officially a whole year. Well…a bit less, really. Novel Darlings was created on August 2nd but we didn’t move to WordPress for another month and the posts didn’t happen right away. But let’s say a year as the date the spirit of the blog was created is the important thing.

At what point do you think you will stop?

I hope that won’t be any time soon! Posts may slow down or stop briefly – we both have busy lives, including jobs, PHD, partners and our original writing project so sometimes we get distracted. But short of anything that means we seriously have to give up the blog, I intend to keep this going. It’s fun, I’ve discovered so much from it and I get to do it all with my best friend. You can’t ask for more.

What is the best part?

Uhh…I seem to have accidentally answered this above? My bad!

Honestly though, my favourite part is working with Andy. When I say she is my partner in crime, she literally is. Well, maybe not the crime but she is basically family. She is sometimes so far away for such long periods of time, our writing projects are always a link between us. It started out as a fun thing for us to do together and I’m surprised and happy that it has kept going strong, despite the distance between us.

What is the worst part?

Being so overwhelmed with life that we can’t give the blog the devotion it needs. Posting does require work and thought, research and editing. It’s not always a simple thing and life does sometimes need to take precedence. It’s hard work for sure…but at the end of the day I’m very proud of this strange little corner of the internet that we’ve made.

How long does it take you to find/create pictures to use?

Uhh…Andy usually does that! She has a knack for it. I’m good with words, less so with visuals. I use the pictures she finds to make into headers sometimes but that’s it for my contribution. I do intend to do something for the blog art wise this year but that’s a secret for now…

Who’s your book crush?

Any of the boys from the Raven cycle. Adrian from Bloodlines/Vampire Academy. Baz from Carry On. Those are the main ones but others do pop up depending on what I’m reading.

What author would you like to have on your blog?

For me, it’s Rainbow Rowell. Or at least one of them! J.K. Rowling, Maggie Stiefvater and Marissa Meyer are several more favourites. But as I identify with Cath so much, I’d like to chat with her about how she created that world and her characters.

What do you wear when you write your blog?

Haha, that varies. I will sit down and type in my work clothes. More often than not it’s my sweats and one of Nomad’s t-shirt. The Assassins Creed one is my favourite as it’s so comfy.

How long does it take you to prepare a post?

It can vary. Some posts are easy and are done in a matter of hours. Some require a lot of effort from both of us and that takes a while due to our schedules. Our recent Raven Boys review took a good few months as it was basically a stream of consciousness that we wrote and had to then bash into shape to make a decent review!

How do you feel about the book blogger community/culture?

I’m only just starting to dip into it a little more and it’s a wonderful place. It’s part of the reason why I started this blog in the first place, to chat with people who like the same books I do. Even better, ones who can suggest great books to me! This year I want to make some more friends in this community.

What do you think one should do to have a successful blog?

Hmmm. Talk to people. Be engaging. Be unique and yourself ideally. I like other people’s opinions on books – they have insights I haven’t thought of and even if I don’t agree with what they say sometimes, it’s still interesting to hear why they don’t like something I love.

And most of all, love it! Novel Darlings never would have lasted this long without the love we have for it and we try to express that in our posts.


Thank you so much for reading this post and supporting our blog in general. We would love to hear your comments, advice and opinions! What would you like to see, what can we improve and ask us questions!

Well, until next week ask Luna, anyway. Andy is in Spain. Lucky duck.

tumblr_n83i64oljb1s3h43ko1_500

However, we’re planned fun posts and things for this entire month so no fear. Novel Darlings will be complete again very soon.

Leave a Reply

