Bookaholic Book Tag

 

1. WHAT DO YOU LOVE ABOUT BUYING NEW BOOKS?

Everything? Like seriously, I cannot put it into words. the smell. The shiny new cover. That you have something new to read or a book you’ve been waiting for is finally here. Being able to find the perfect place for it on your shelf. Pretty much the only other retail joy anything like it for me is when I get a new pony. (Just in case you forgot I’m a crazy pony lady.)

2. HOW OFTEN DO YOU BUY NEW BOOKS?

Browsing in shops/charity stores usually results in a few books. This is either ones I’ve wanted to read but don’t want to pay full price for or new books that catch my eye.

New books usually get compiled into groups of what has been released that month and what I’ve decided I particularly want at that time. Then after that, it’s what’s the best deal. I have been known to splurge in bookshops if I see new books that I must have (Three Dark Crowns, I’m looking at you) but mostly I’m about the bargain.


3. BOOKSTORE OR ONLINE BOOK SHOPPING – WHICH DO YOU PREFER?

They both have pros so this is hard. You can’t beat the smell of a book store and you get the books in your hand right then and there. But online can be cheaper and you have the wonderful surprise of delivery. No matter how awful your day has been, if you get home and there’s books on your doorstep all is suddenly right with the world again.


4. DO YOU HAVE A FAVOURITE BOOKSTORE?

Probably not. I like all bookstores and having worked in Waterstones, I have a particular fondness for my local branch. Bookshops are all wonderful things, meant to be cherished. It’s not an establishment I’d want to lose any time soon.


5. DO YOU PREORDER BOOKS?

Not usually. Maybe I should but I’m impatient. Plus a couple of times I have pre-ordered things and they’ve taken ages to come. Not to mention, I usually order a few at once and wait until I have a list, rather than ordering one or two when they get released.


6. DO YOU HAVE A MONTHLY BOOK BUYING LIMIT?

Not really. Sometimes I do buy a lot in a month and then I’m like ‘ok, that’s probably enough.’ But I don’t really have a limit. When the haul pile gets taller than me, that’s my limit. And I’m nearly six foot, so that’s quite a limit.


7. BOOK BUYING BANS – ARE THEY SOMETHING FOR YOU?

Lol, no. Not happening. There’s too many books in the world and unless I’m ever in serious financial straits I don’t think it will be. Stopping entirely would be just too hard. I’m constantly reading and unhauling so there’s usually space (said space might be the size of a mouse-hole but it’s space!)


8. HOW BIG IS YOUR WISHLIST?

Big. The must haves are fairly long. I want lots of books but I try to gauge how much I’m going to like them/will want to keep them after. If I can read them for free from a library first, that helps. But generally I don’t end up with too many new full price books that I get rid of soon after.


9. WHICH THREE BOOKS (FROM YOUR WISH LIST OR PREORDERS, OR … ) WOULD YOU LIKE TO OWN NOW?

Heartless by Marissa Meyer.  Blood of Wonderland by Colleen Oakes. Long May She Reign by Rhiannon Thomas.

Leave a comment